Real ID: A Message from Michigan's Secretary of State

January 16, 2020


Your Michigan driver's license or identification card may not get you through airport security later this year.

October 1, 2020, is when the federal government will fully enforce the post-9/11 REAL ID Act, and standard state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards will no longer be accepted to board domestic flights within the United States, or when entering certain federal facilities, such as military bases or nuclear power plants.

Many people already have a REAL ID document, such as a valid U.S. passport, a DHS Trusted Traveler Card, or an Enhanced Driver's License. A full list of acceptable REAL ID documents is available here. Those who don't have these documents can make their Michigan license or identification REAL ID-compliant by visiting a Secretary of State branch office and presenting the required documents. Additionally, if you make an appointment, you will be out in thirty minutes or less.

Here's what you need to do to get a REAL ID:

  • To schedule an appointment at one of our branch offices, visit this website or call 888-SOS-MICH. You can make an appointment at any branch in the state, and you don't need to have a renewal mailer to do so. Some branches fill up fast, so we recommend booking your appointment a few weeks in advance of when you plan to travel. Your REAL ID license or state ID card will be mailed to you.
  • Bring your driver's license or state identification card.
  • Bring your certified birth certificate with a raised seal or stamp issued by a governmental agency, your valid, unexpired U.S. passport, or an approved citizenship or legal presence document. (Faxes and photocopies won't be accepted.)
  • If your name differs from what is on your birth certificate, bring certified documents for every time your name has changed, such as marriage licenses or court orders.

There's no additional fee to turn a license or state ID card into a standard REAL ID if it is done during your normal renewal time; otherwise, a duplicate card fee of $9.00 or $10.00 will be charged.

For more information, please click here.

POST WRITTEN BY

Reilly Coleman

Communications Assistant